My first Thanksgiving

Thursday the 24th of November
I was more than excited to spend my first Thanksgiving here in America. We got off school on Thursday the 24th, and Sue's family came over for food and nice company. I met her mother for the first time. "Thanksgiving is an annual national holiday marked by religious observances and a traditional meal including turkey. The holiday commemorates a harvest festival celebrated by the Pilgrims in 1621, and is held in the US on the fourth Thursday in November". 
 
Food we eat included turkey, bread, ham, casseroles, stuffing, eggs, potatoes.. It was my first time eating a full cooked turkey, and I actually prefer ham and chicken. 
 
Friday the 25th of November
Today is Black Friday!! I have always wanted to go Black Friday shopping and thankfully Claire and her cousin Anna wanted to go with me. Ryan went out at 6.00 p.m. on Thursday to go buy some cheap clothes with our friend Megan, and we actually met one another when I woke up at 4.00 a.m. preparing to leave the house. Black Friday is viewed through media as a very dangerous time so I expected the roads and stores to be crowded, but it turned out that the biggest crowd went to the mall. Kohl's, Walmart, Target, Meijer and Marshalls were just as busy as any regular day. I bought myself a pair of Harr Potter sweatpants, a blazer, a portable speaker, some clothes and Christmas gifts. Once we were done shopping, Claire and I went to her house and took a 4 hour nap. And somehow I ended up eating breakfast 3 times this day..
 
Saturday the 26th of November
Todahy we were invited over to eat Thanksgiving dinner with my host sister in law's family. It was a fun time and we ended up learning a new cardgame.
 
Sunday the 27th of November
On Sunday, it was time for one more family get together, with Todd's family. We stayed at grandma and grandpa's house, eating good food once again and playing cards. We also played charades, which was a good time.
 
Overall I really enjoyed Thanksgiving. It is a great holiday to get together with people you love (and some that you might not see very often) while bonding over food. I actually liked Thanksgiving food probably a little more than Swedish Christmas food!
 
 
Sue saved a bone from the turkey known as the wish bone. Ryan and I pulled it apart and the person with the biggest piece got to make a wish.
 
 
 
 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar: